help! Red bumps under Chin!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: help! Red bumps under Chin!

sidney12684 is offline New to the Village

Default help! Red bumps under Chin!

Hi everyone! Im new to PV but have been meaning to join since getting Nina my 1and1/2 year old silver fawn pug. I recently added a 6 week old little boy who is nina's bioligical brother and am very excited!

Im writing about Red sores/ bumps on Ninas Chin. She will get similar red dots in her face near her wiskers, but the ones under the chin are the worst. Currently she has one that is quite large and im concerned. It is red and very elevated alomost wart looking. close to the size of large tick. She has had some smaller ones in the past that have gone away but this one has not. Ive been googling and seems that others have similar problems with their pugs, some cites said thatt it could be pug acne?

Does anyone have some advice, or has anyone had similar experiences with their pug?
    Thanks!!!

ashbee03 is offline Village Governor

You shouldn't do this, but squeeze one.
    If it pops out pus, it is a form of K9 acne.
    Basically a skin infection.

I would wash her face after eating and use stainless steel bowls.

Throw out plastic toys, or atleast wash them everytime after use.

I have constant facial infection problems with my pug. Been to the vet many times. Many unnecessary antibiotics.

Use an antibiotic ointment when they flare up. Like polysporin or neosporin. (No name brands work too if its the same ingredients.)

It could be linked with an allergy. Try switching foods ? What are you feeding her ?
    It could also just be environmental. Which means it can flare up every once in a while. Like my dog. She sometimes doesn't have anything, a nice clear face for months and then boom, a breakout.

If it is not popping, or is filled with blood, I would see your vet.
    Could be a skin disease or disorder. But it sounds somewhat normal to me.

Posting a pic could also help !