14 yr old pug wobbles on back legs
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By 6 Beautiful Pugs
  • 3 Post By Misslisajm

Thread: 14 yr old pug wobbles on back legs

davida is offline New to the Village

Default 14 yr old pug wobbles on back legs

I have read lots about senior pugs becoming wobbly on their back legs and this has also become an issue for my sweet little guy. In the past year or so he has started to have issues as he walks, and the Vet supplied arthritic meds which have helped, but recently it seems that this no longer works. He now will loose his footing and basically sit in the spot he lands. This is breaking my heart and I'm so concerned about what to do? I have scheduled a new appointment with my Vet this Sunday to discuss next steps. Other than his issues with his legs he still is eating normally and still loves to give his kisses and be around everyone. Usually I'm a very good writer when it comes to sharing my thoughts but I'm feeling so upset I can't even clearly share what I'm trying to say. Basically can anyone tell me if they have gone through this and how do I deal with this? I love him so much and just want to keep him safe and comfortable.
    signed...
    pug dad with worried sick!

PetuniePug is offline New to the Village

My little Petunia started getting wobbly when she turned 13 or 14. We struggled to find meds that work for a while, but now we give her Greenies joint chews (with green lip oysters) and Dasuquin. Now she is 16 and she is about as healthy as a 10 year old. Hope that helps!

Rugbysmom is offline Village Royalty