Defrosting Raw Food!
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mick66

Thread: Defrosting Raw Food!

Bonnie is offline Village Mayor

Default Defrosting Raw Food!

I've had my Nature's Variety thawing in the fridge for about 17 hours and it's still hard & my puggies are hungry! What can I do?? This is my first time feeding raw.

pugtown is offline Village Admiral

I usually thaw mine on the top shelf of the frig (farthest from the freezer and the air circulator between the frig & freezer) and it still takes 24 hours. I would just wait (they will be ok) or go ahead and give them a snack or just feed what you would normally feed and serve the raw at the next meal. And then pull another one out to thaw.

pugtown is offline Village Admiral

Do you mean this is the first time ever your dog has eaten raw?? I had to transition to raw, it wasn't instantaneous. I'm not sure how others have started feeding raw. I first started giving my dogs just a bite or two as a treat when I first started. I have 4 dogs so 1 patty worked out just fine between the 4 of them. Then I gradually gave them a little more. Then I put some in their kibble meal. And then it was probably a week or so before they ate a whole raw meal by itself.

I tried giving a foster dog just 2 bites of raw one time and he just threw it up.

4. Remove Advertisements
    PugVillage.com
    Advertisements

ashbee03 is offline Village Governor

Not sure if this okay or not, but I have done this & haven't had any issues. I just actually posted my own thread asking if this was okay, but I have zapped the patties in the microwave on a defrost setting for about 45 seconds & it speeds up the process greatly. Not sure if its good, but stay tuned on my other thread & maybe someone will answer.
    mommy to my first furchild ; shylah !

snowsprite is offline Village Mayor