Horrible stinky pug breath!
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Hellas

Thread: Horrible stinky pug breath!

maxinesmomma is offline New to the Village

Default Horrible stinky pug breath!

I have the sweetest dog but her breath is just...wow! I have tried different dental bones, treats, diets, etc.... She still has the dragon breath. Anyone know how to make it less obnoxious?

Hellas is offline Village Admiral

In all likelyhood, she needs to go to the vet to have her teeth and gums thoroughly cleaned. Pugs often do have problems with their teeth and it not only smells, it's painful for the pug as well. I've known many a pug with terrible tooth decay, so it's best to nip it in the bud and get a fresh breath as a bonus.

I believe that throat infections/tonsillitis can also cause bad breath. At least that's what I've heard. I have no personal experience with this though.

Either way, I think you need to call the vet :)
    Proud mama to puggies Winston and Ozzie, Slatan the Cat and Zino the horse.

Buddy's Mom is offline Village Admiral

Quote Originally Posted by Hellas View Post
    In all likelyhood, she needs to go to the vet to have her teeth and gums thoroughly cleaned. Pugs often do have problems with their teeth and it not only smells, it's painful for the pug as well. I've known many a pug with terrible tooth decay, so it's best to nip it in the bud and get a fresh breath as a bonus.

I believe that throat infections/tonsillitis can also cause bad breath. At least that's what I've heard. I have no personal experience with this though.

Either way, I think you need to call the vet :)
    That is my feeling also. My mother has a poodle that had horrible breath and it turned out to be tonsillitis, they took them out and he has had perfect breath ever since.
    Jennifer