Umbilical Hernia
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Umbilical Hernia

hayleynatasha is offline New to the Village

Default Umbilical Hernia

Hi everyone! I am new to pug (and dog) and am looking for some advice...

Basically I've had my pug puppy Hugo for 6 days now, he's 15 weeks old. I took him to the vet this morning to get him registered and microchipped (ow) and my vet told me he had an umbilical hernia.

This may sound silly but I thought this was his belly button as it was there when I went to see him and the breeder mentioned nothing. I was planning on breeding Hugo in the future but it's no big deal if not.

A few of my relatives however have told me i should call the breeder since she failed to tell me about the hernia. Has anyone else encountered this problem and what did you do? Also did your pug need an operation in the end and if so how much did it cost (£)?

Thank you in advance everyone!

Tinker's mom is offline Village Royalty

Hello & to the village! I have no experience with this but I know several people on here do. I read on here that sometimes the puppy outgrows it. I'm sure others will chime in. Glad to have you aboard!
    Jackie,Mom to Robbie & Stacy my human children and Tinker my furkid.

Wonka & Nilla is offline Village Dancing Jitterpug

I have no advice on umbilical hernia's in pugs, but I do think you should tell the breeder about it. It's important for the breeder to know about any health related issues that the pup has.

Hopefully someone with experience will post and answer your questions. In the meantime, welcome to PugVillage and I hope we'll get to see pictures of little Hugo.
    Village Moderator

Mom to Miss Jelly Bean "Beanie" Licorice Pug and Noodles the Frenchie
    Forever in our hearts:
    Miss Nilla Sassafras Pug August 17, 2002 to April 19, 2018
    And my Heart-Dog...
    Wonka the Dancing Pug, CGC, W-FD, W-TFD.
    Februrary 11, 2005 to May 10, 2020. Miss you, sweet boy!