Neutering - advice for vet / clinic in NYC
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Neutering - advice for vet / clinic in NYC

alexp is offline New to the Village

Default Neutering - advice for vet / clinic in NYC

Hi everyone!

I'm a PugVillage newbie -- and a New York newbie, that's why i'm posting this.

Having moved recently from Athens, Greece I've avoided having him neutered as per my vet's recommendations because of the potential complications that could come up during the anesthesia -- "computerized anesthesia" (I hope I'm using the correct term here) is not common practice in Greece and since pugs are extra sensitive because of their breath issues, my vet always recommended that I wait until I move to the US to have him fixed.

Now that I'm here I want to finally have him neutered for his own good (he's 5 years old). Problem is: I seriously freak out of the possibility of bad things happening during the procedure so I'm doing extensive research to find a clinic and a veterinarian that I can trust. I live in the East Village and I've been to the St Mark's Veterinary Hospital for check ups etc -- they're quite good but very expensive plus they don't have fantastic reputation, which worries me. I'm leaning towards the Lower East Side Animal Hospital or the Humaine Society but I'd really appreciate any tips about vets & clinics or things to ask for before the procedure.

Thanks so much!

wasabimom is offline Village VP

Animal Medical Center......Upper East Side. I personally know a vet there and I am a native NY'er...nothing beats their reputation. My question for you is what health benefit are you hoping to gain by neutering? In my research (and in my vet's opinion) there is only a benefit in NOT neutering.

alexp is offline New to the Village