+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By sassismom
  • 1 Post By Nina_W

Thread: One-eyed pug complications???

puggywap is offline New to the Village

Default One-eyed pug complications???

Hi everyone.

I'm new to pugvillage. I got my first ever pug puppy that I've wanted my whole life about a couple of months ago. He was about 6 months old. Shortly thereafter, when I was at a family member's home, their dog attacked my pug, and his eye fell out. Subsequently, we had him undergo ER surgery to put the eye back in, then later they decided it wasn't salvageable, so he had to go under again to remove the eye. Then, about a month later, a veterinary opthalmologist suggested to me that he have a medial and lateral canthoplasty surgery to close the corners of the one eye that he does still have to prevent that one from ever getting proptosed. Then he was neutered a couple of weeks ago, at which point they had to re-open the eye socket without the eye because apparently there was some glandular tissue that the surgeon who first removed the eye had accidentally left in there (because the eye socket was leaking every day). Fortunately, after 4 surgeries, he's really doing great now, and has adjusted really well to having one eye. The last one (hopefully) will be his last surgery for a while.