Getting a pug soon but reallly need your help!
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By peach
  • 1 Post By Nina_W
  • 1 Post By CSollers

Thread: Getting a pug soon but reallly need your help!

peach is offline New to the Village

Question Getting a pug soon but reallly need your help!

Hi everyone,

I will be getting a pug puppy in July hopefully (if I have found a suitable breeder who has puppies available then) because I work in a school and that's right before the huge summer break.

I have been reading up a LOT on various problems and just want to check a few things with you guys so that I can find a good breeder. Please help!

First of all I will be looking for the 'common sense' things when I visit them, such as how/where they have been brought up so far, checkng the mum and dad out, looking for any visible health issues, why they have been bred and whether I can return the puppy for a full refund if my vet's check comes out badly etc etc.

I will also need to find out, as much as possible, any health issues the puppies might have in the longer term. I understand that being kennel club registered (mum, dad and pup) only guarantees that the pug is pure pug and doesn't guarantee against hereditary conditions. I read that the parents can be tested for hemivertebrae via x-ray and pug dog encephalitis via dna testing. Are these 2 tests what it means when adverts refer to the sire being "fully health tested"?

Or are there other problems they can health test for in the parents and pup too? What tests should I definitely make sure have been done so that I'm not as likely to spend thousands down the road on expensive surgeries?

I am in the UK if that makes any difference (?) and really want a happy healthy pug but I am just not sure what I can expect from the best breeder. Hope someone can fill me in! Thanks!

(Any other advice for a new pug owner greatly welcomed!)
    Nina_W likes this.

Nina_W is offline Village Story Teller