My pug is scared of her leash
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: My pug is scared of her leash

KarmagraphyBM is offline Village Puppy

Default My pug is scared of her leash

I need help leash training my pug puppy who seems to traumatized when her leash is on. I think it's mostly my fault this happen, because i would just pull her back every time she tends to run and my kids saw that. So when my kids had the leash my puppy started running and my youngest son who is 4 just yanked her back really hard and my puppy shouted. Now she is traumatized every time we put the leash on her. Now she wont even move when we take her out to potty or even a walk. What can we do to help her get over it? Please Help.

newpugmomma is offline Village Governor

I am not an expert by any means since I struggle with my own pug with leashes. His is more of an excitement issue though. I would think getting her to associate the leash with a good thing would help. Try putting the leash on the floor and when she sniffs it or shows interest in it give her a treat. Then maybe you can slowly build up to putting the leash on her and nothing more(not walking with it in hand..just let it lay by her side) and do that for short increments of time but making sure to treat her when she is accepting it. Then try moving to holding the leash in hand and treating her as she walks beside you.

Clicker training is a popular method that you may want to google and look into. :) I would definitley not let the kids walk her until she is over the fear of the leash.

Oh, btw, welcome to PV! I would also suggest putting her in a harness instead of a collar when walking since they are sensitive in the throat area. It also can encourage pulling so you want to make sure you are training her to walk beside you.

4. Remove Advertisements
    PugVillage.com
    Advertisements